LCCF logo and tagline "An affliate of the Chicago trust"

New Board of Directors

The Lake County Community Foundation Names the Honorable Susan Garrett and Other Leaders to Board of Directors

Waukegan, IL—March 29, 2013- The Lake County Community Foundation announced the addition of Marvin Bembry, C. Lawrence Connolly and the Honorable Susan Garrett to its board of directors. The Foundation’s board is comprised of 16 directors representing the diversity and geographic scope of the county.

“Susan Garrett, Marvin Bembry and Larry Connolly are highly respected community leaders who have had had very active roles across our county and embody the Foundation’s commitment to an inclusive board, representing the full spectrum of our county,” says Sylvia M. Zaldivar-Sykes, Executive Director of the Foundation. “The addition of these three leaders will bring important perspectives to the Foundation as we advance strategic
solutions to the county’s most pressing needs.”

Marvin Bembry is the Director of State and Local Government Affairs with AbbVie and was previously with Abbott for nearly 13 years. Mr. Bembry also holds various leadership positions, including commissioner of Illinois Economic Recovery Commission, chair of the North Chicago Chamber of Commerce and advisory board member of Lake County Public Health Assessment. He is an ordained minister and founding pastor of New Beginnings Ministries of Lake County located in Grayslake, IL and has received many awards for his leadership, volunteerism and community service, including the 2013 Midwest Urban Empowerment Award for Leadership.

“After 18 months of observing the missional work of the Foundation and the passion of the Executive Director, I thought this would be a great opportunity to strengthen my impact in Lake County. I am excited to be part of such a dynamic and transformative organization,” stated Bembry.

C. Lawrence Connolly retired as General Counsel of Hewitt Associates, Inc., in 2006. Since that time, he has served on the board of St. Martin de Porres High School and then as St. Martin’s Director of Finance and Operations. He is a lifelong resident of Lake County.

“I have long been interested in improving the quality of life in Lake County, especially for those residents who are most vulnerable,” said Connolly. “Given that this is the Foundation’s mission, I am excited to join the board.”

The Honorable Susan Garrett represented the 29th district in the Illinois Senate from 2002-2013 and represented the 58th district from 1997-2001 as a member of the Illinois House of Representatives. Prior to her tenure as an elected official she held executive positions in marketing and advertising. Her civic leadership includes Lake Forest College, Board of Trustees; board member of the Women’s Institute for Leadership and the Lake Forest Club; the Lake Forest/Lake Bluff League of Women Voters and the American Association of University Women.

“As a member of the board of The Lake County Community Foundation, I will continue my commitment to public service. I look forward to working with the Foundation to address the vital issues facing our county and build upon its many strengths and its unique diversity,” said Senator Garrett.

Marvin Bembry C. Lawrence Connolly The Honorable Susan Garrett

About The Lake County Community Foundation
Since 2003, The Lake County Community Foundation, an affiliate of The Chicago Community Trust, has partnered with donors to leverage and guide their philanthropy to help transform the lives of the most vulnerable people across our county. Together, we have contributed over $2.5 million to 80 nonprofit organizations that support basic human needs, community development, education and health throughout Lake County. By connecting the generosity of donors across Lake County with the most pressing needs of the community, we ensure that our county thrives today and for generations to come.